Posted by: Farley | July 28, 2009

Watcher Of The Vines

The Wacher of the Vines 1994 - 2008
V1
The restless leaves of autumn
Whisper round my yard
The graying clouds go rolling by
Winter’s coming hard

V2
Children through the window
(A timeless lullaby)
Are a blur of colored charm
(Words in soft reply
And lovers go strolling by
(Memories brings a sigh
With hearts locked arm in arm
(Echoes of goodbye)

Chorus
You are the watcher of The Vines
Keeping to your lonely vigil
You’re a dreamer
You’re a schemer
Bon vivant – and my friend

V3
You came to me in winter
(Gentle won the day )
When I faced a bitter fight
(A friend will surely stay
You soothed my swollen spirit
(Tears will fade away)
Quenched my appetite
(And love is for today)

Bridge
I have taken more than I can ever give
Still you never mind at all
I have taken you for granted my friend
Still, you love me; still you love me
Still, you love me; still you love me
Still, you love me through it all

Chorus
You are the watcher of The Vines
Keeping to your lonely vigil
You’re a dreamer
You’re a schemer
Bon vivant – and my friend

V4
The Sun is sinking lower
(A timeless lullaby)
It’s time for you to go
(A word in soft reply)
I will miss your gentle heart
(Memories bring a sigh)
More than you can know
(Echoes of goodbye)

PS:  If you would like to hear how it sounds as an early working draft put to music, I have posted it as an mp3 here.

https://sites.google.com/site/in2bronte/Home/the-watcher-of-the-vines

Leave a Reply

Categories

