Posted by: Farley | July 13, 2009

The Dance Of The Night

(His)
Hadn’t been home for a couple of years
And I came to town to shed some tears
For a high school friend who had met his end
And I stayed a while
One night I took a walk uptown
I was kicking a can just hanging around
Went by her old house and saw her looking down
And she smiled at me
She gave me a hug and took my hand
We walked for miles and shared our plans
And down by the river on the silver sand
Watched the full moon rise

(Chorus Duet)
The moonlight on you
The moonlight on you
The moonlight on you
Captured me
And the dance of the night, can be so true and right
When the warmth of your love , helps you rise above
And funny , it seems , when all of your dreams
Were waiting, waiting, behind you

(Her)
I moved back home when my daddy left
To help mom regain her self respect
Took a job at night at the Red and White
And life passed me by
I fell in love a time or two
But one was married and the other wouldn’t do
And when mom passed on and left me alone
I was tired inside
Then out my window that summer night
I saw him standing in the street light
When he looked at me I could clearly see
I wanted him

(Chorus Duet)
The moonlight on you
The moonlight on you
The moonlight on you
Captured me
And the dance of the night, can be so true and right
When the warmth of your love , helps you rise above
And funny , it seems , when all of your dreams
Were waiting, waiting, behind you
The Moonlight on you …. (out)

Responses

  1. Very evocative, Farley. Have you set it to music?

    Thanks! *smiles*
    Lyr


Leave a Reply

Categories

